clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

11.4.11 In Related News: Women's Soccer Year End Awards

Five Marquette women's soccer players were honored by the Big East coaches for their play in the 2011 season. The highlights of the awards are Natalie Kulla winning her second straight Goalkeeper of the Year award and Kerry McBride winning her second straight Defender of the Year award.

The first back to back keeper award winner since Villanova's Jillian Loyden from 1995-97, Kulla was the preseason Goalkeeper of the Year in both seasons as well. This year, she recorded 7 shutouts in conference play and 10 shutouts overall with a goals-against average of 0.66 while backing Marquette to their third straight American Division title.

McBride held down the sweeper position for a Marquette team that allowed just 2.5 shots per game and recorded 12 shutouts on the season. McBride was the centerpiece for a Marquette defense that allowed just 7 goals in 11 conference games. She's the first back to back Defender of the Year in the Big East since Notre Dame's Jen Grubb in 1998-99.

Coach Markus Roeders on Kulla & McBride:

"Our team's success is built on individual excellence and both Natalie and Kerry showed again that they are among the very best in the BIG EAST and in the country. For them to repeat as recipients of these prestigious individual awards speaks highly of them and their play all year. They will go down in Marquette history among the very best that has ever played their positions. We have leaned on our three seniors, including Lindsey Page, all year and will continue to do so going into the NCAA tourney."

Joining Kulla and McBride on the All Big East First Team is sophomore forward Maegan Kelly. Kelly posted a team high 38 points powered by a career high 14 goals, including 6 game winners with 3 of those coming in Big East play. Kelly followed up a freshman year where she was named to the All Big East Rookie team by being the only Big East player to record double digit goals and assists.

Junior midfielder Ally Miller was named to the All Big East Third Team. Miller started all 20 games for Marquette and was a key component of the Golden Eagles' defensive effort, leading to her Big East Defensive Player Of The Week award on October 17. This is the second time Miller's been recognized by the Big East coaches for a yearly award after a All Rookie team appearance in 2009.

Mady Vicker rounds out Marquette's contributions to the end of year awards with inclusion on the All Big East Rookie team. Vicker appeared in 17 games, including 10 Big East contests, and recorded a goal and 3 assists. Vicker's goal was one of the most important goals for Marquette this season, as she picked up the game winner in MU's overtime win against DePaul.

Roeders on Kelly, Miller, and Vicker:

"Maegan has shown that she is extremely dangerous when it comes to scoring goals and also setting up others. She has had a breakout season and we know she is only getting better. Ally is probably least recognized player who consistently gives everything she has. It is great to see her being recognized. Mady has battled all year and the future is bright for her and our young squad. The character of these players and our squad speaks to our team's strength as they give credit to everyone and they know that individual awards are only achieved by an outstanding team."

After the jump: The full rundown of Big East awards!

2011 BIG EAST Women’s Soccer Major Award Winners

BIG EAST Offensive Player of the Year
Christine Exeter, Louisville, So., F

BIG EAST Defensive Player of the Year
Kerry McBride, Marquette, Sr., D

BIG EAST Midfielder of the Year
Ingrid Wells, Georgetown, R-Sr., M

BIG EAST Goalkeeper of the Year
Natalie Kulla, Marquette, Sr., GK

BIG EAST Rookie of the Year
Kate Schwindel, West Virginia, Fr., F

BIG EAST Coach of the Year
Karen Ferguson-Dayes, Louisville

Team Fair Play Award
University of Notre Dame

2011 BIG EAST Women’s Soccer All-Conference Teams

Kelly D’Ambrisi, Georgetown, Sr., M
Christine Exeter, Louisville, So., F
Melissa Henderson, Notre Dame, Sr., F
Maegan Kelly, Marquette, So., F
Natalie Kulla, Marquette, Sr., GK
Kerry McBride, Marquette, Sr., D
Blake Miller, West Virginia, Sr., F
Katie Ryan, Villanova, Sr., F
Jessica Schuveiller, Notre Dame, Sr., D/M
Camille Trujillo, Georgetown, Sr., F
*Ingrid Wells, Georgetown, R-Sr., M

Sara Keane, West Virginia, R-Fr., GK
Chelsea Klotz, USF, Sr., F
Mandy Laddish, Notre Dame, So., M
Jen Leaverton, St. John’s, Sr., F
Amy Marron, St. John’s, So., M/F
Bry McCarthy, West Virginia, Jr., D
Tina Romagnuolo, Syracuse, Jr., F/M
Katelyn Ruhe, Pittsburgh, Sr., M
Danielle Schulmann, Connecticut, R-Jr., F
Kate Schwindel, West Virginia, Fr., F
Frances Silva, West Virginia, So., F
Demi Stokes, USF, So., F

Samantha Baker, Georgetown, Sr., F
Morgan Celaya, DePaul, Sr., F
Daphne Corboz, Georgetown, Fr., M
Ashley Cuba, Pittsburgh, Jr., F
Riley Houle, Connecticut, Fr., M
Jennifer Jones, Louisville, Sr., M
Ally Miller, Marquette, Jr., M
Taylor Patterson, USF, Jr., M
Katie Ritter, Seton Hall, So., F
Jenna Roncarati, Providence, Jr., D
Taylor Wilson, Seton Hall, Sr., M
Shannon Woeller, Rutgers, R-Jr., D

Lauren Bohaboy, Notre Dame, Fr., F
Daphne Corboz, Georgetown, Fr., M
Riley Houle, Connecticut, Fr., M
Megan Hunsberger, Syracuse, Fr., M
Sara Keane, West Virginia, R-Fr., GK
Caitlin McLaughlin, St. John’s, Fr., F
Stephanie Myers, Villanova, R-Fr., M
Kate Schwindel, West Virginia, Fr., F
Mady Vicker, Marquette, Fr., F/M
Anne Vikre, USF, R-Fr., M
Erin Yenney, Louisville, Fr., M

^Due to a tie in voting, extra members have been added

* Unanimous selection