clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

YOUR 2012-13 Marquette Men's Basketball Schedule!

New, 8 comments
I could stand to see six or seven of these when Trent Lockett makes his Big East debut against UConn on New Year's Day.
I could stand to see six or seven of these when Trent Lockett makes his Big East debut against UConn on New Year's Day.

Hey, remember when I said yesterday that we could expect the schedule any day now? Today is that day. The Big East and Marquette have announced the schedule for the Big East section of the men's basketball season. I'll let you dig into the list, and then we'll chat about it after the jump.

Date Opponent Time
Tue., January 1, 2013 UCONN 7:00 p.m. CST
Sat., January 5, 2013 Georgetown TBD
Sat., January 12, 2013 @ PITT 11:00 a.m. CST
Wed., January 16, 2013 Seton Hall TBD
Sat., January 19, 2013 @ Cincinnati 4:00 p.m. CST
Sat., January 26, 2013 Providence TBD
Mon., January 28, 2013 South Florida 8:00 p.m. CST
Sun., February 3, 2013 @ Louisville 1:00 p.m. CST
Wed., February 6, 2013 @ South Florida 6:00 p.m. CST
Sat., February 9, 2013 DePaul TBD
Mon., February 11, 2013 @ Georgetown 6:00 p.m. CST
Sat., February 16, 2013 PITT 12:00 p.m. CST
Tue., February 19, 2013 @ Seton Hall TBD
Sat., February 23, 2013 @ Villanova 5:00 p.m. CST
Mon., February 25, 2013 Syracuse 6:00 p.m. CST
Sat., March 2 , 2013 Notre Dame 1:00 p.m. CST
Tue., March 5, 2013 @ Rutgers TBD
Sat., March 9, 2013 @ St. John's 1:00 p.m. CST

First things first: the students will miss the two home games to open the season, January 1st vs UConn and January 5th against Georgetown. Spring semester starts up on January 14th, so they're back for everything after that, as Spring Break will start on March 9th.

Next thing that jumps out at me: Marquette's "bye" weeks, where they only have one game, are both in January. They pay for a quiet January with a hellacious start to February: at Louisville, at South Florida, home for DePaul, and back out again for Georgetown all in the span of nine days.

Eleven (11) of the 18 games will be on the ESPN family of networks and one (February 16th vs Pitt) will be on CBS. The remainder will be carried through the Big East Network, which means Time Warner Cable Sports 32 for TWC customers in Wisconsin, and a wish and a prayer hopefully Watch ESPN or SNY for the rest of you.

Marquette does not play more than two consecutive home or road games through the entire conference schedule, but it is going to slightly weird to host senior night with two games left on the schedule and 10 days on the calendar before the Big East tournament starts.

Those are my first impressions. What jumps out at you?