clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Marquette Women's Lacrosse Announces 2015 Schedule

Right about on time, too.

Junior Claire Costanza is Marquette's all time leading scorer.
Junior Claire Costanza is Marquette's all time leading scorer.
Maggie Bean/MarquetteImages.com

On Wednesday afternoon, Marquette announced the women's lacrosse schedule for the spring of 2015.  The 17 game slate features six matches at home in Milwaukee and four contests against teams that qualified for the 2014 NCAA tournament.  Three of those games against NCAA tournament teams will be contested in Milwaukee.

For the second year in a row, Marquette will open the season against Johns Hopkins.  MU lost 16-2 in Baltimore last season, but this match won't be in Milwaukee.  Instead, it will be in Houston on February 8, in what will the first ever Division 1 women's lacrosse match in the city of Houston as part of the University of Houston's Women Empowered initiative.

Marquette gets a chance to face Northwestern again this season.  The Golden Eagles lost 20-5 to the Wildcats in 2014, but goalie Sarah Priem put in an amazing effort to stop 12 NU shots, including 10 in the first half, to stop things from being a complete bloodbath quickly.

After a spring break road trip for three matches in California, Marquette returns home to play four matches in nine days.  They'll get to see Michigan, Detroit, and 2014 NCAA tournament team Notre Dame before opening the Big East schedule against Villanova on Saturday, March 28th.

Because the Big East has eight teams for women's lacrosse, the schedule is going to be tilted against Marquette every other year, and this is one of those years.  They'll play three home games and four road games, but the good news is how those games fell for MU.  The two 2014 NCAA tournament teams in the Big East - Florida and Georgetown - are both home games for Marquette.  They'll tangle with the Gators, who join the Big East this season along with Vanderbilt, on Wednesday, April 8, and they'll catch the Hoyas as the front end of a doubleheader at Hart Park in Wauwatosa on Saturday, April 18.  The men's lacrosse team will take on Duke as the second half of the twinbill.

Here's the full slate for you to admire and peruse:

Date Opponent Time (CT)
Sun., Feb. 8 vs. Johns Hopkins (in Houston) 12pm
Sat., Feb. 14 at Colorado 1pm
Sat., Feb. 21 at Northwestern 12pm
Sat., Feb. 28 at Duquesne 10:30am
Sun., Mar. 8 at UC Davis 3pm
Tue., Mar. 10 at St. Mary's 6pm
Sun., Mar. 15 at USC 2pm
Fri., Mar. 20 Michigan 5pm
Sun., Mar. 22 Detroit 1pm
Wed., Mar. 25 Notre Dame 4pm
Sat., Mar. 28 Villanova 12pm
Sat., Apr. 4 at Connecticut 11am
Wed., Apr. 8 Florida 11:30am
Sat., Apr. 11 at Temple 11am
Wed., Apr. 15 at Vanderbilt 3pm
Sat., Apr. 18 Georgetown 3pm
Sat., Apr. 25 at Cincinnati 12pm

You can check out head coach Meredith Black's comments on the schedule via Marquette's official release.