clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

And Now, Your 2014-15 Marquette Men's Basketball Big East Schedule

New, 7 comments

Go ahead and exhale, then start blocking out space on your calendars.

Jeff Hanisch-USA TODAY Sports

The last two years, the men's basketball Big East schedule was released on September 5th.  This year, we had to wait until September 9th.  I blame LeBron James, as his move from the Miami Heat to the Cleveland Cavaliers probably fouled up the NBA schedule something fierce, and we all know that the Big East uses four NBA arenas for their games.

Anyway, enough babbling, onwards to the schedule.

Date Opponent Time TV
Wed. Dec. 31 At DePaul 4pm Fox Sports 1
Sat. Jan. 3 Vs. Providence 1pm FS Wisconsin
Tues. Jan. 6 At Georgetown 6pm Fox Sports 1
Wed. Jan. 14 Vs. Creighton 8pm CBS Sports Net
Sat. Jan. 17 At Xavier 11am FS Wisconsin
Wed. Jan. 21 At St. John's 6pm Fox Sports 1
Sat. Jan. 24 Vs. Georgetown 1:30pm Fox Sports 1
Wed. Jan. 28 Vs. Seton Hall 6pm Fox Sports 1
Sat. Jan. 31 Vs. Butler 1pm FS Wisconsin
Wed. Feb. 4 At Villanova 6pm Fox Sports 1
Sat. Feb. 7 At Seton Hall 11am CBS Sports Net
Tues. Feb. 10 Vs. Xavier 8pm Fox Sports 1
Sat. Feb. 14 At Creighton 12pm Fox Sports 1
Sat. Feb. 21 Vs. Villanova 1pm Fox
Wed. Feb. 25 At Butler 7pm Fox Sports 1
Sun. Mar. 1 At Providence 2:30pm Fox Sports 1
Wed. Mar. 4 Vs. St. John's 8pm Fox Sports 1
Sat. Mar. 7 Vs. DePaul 1pm Fox Sports 1

Some immediate thoughts on Marquette's slate:

  • Three Fox Sports Wisconsin games, two CBS Sports Network games, one game on big time broadcast Fox, and the rest on Fox Sports 1.
  • The schedule is not balanced with one trip through the league and back through a second time.  For example, Marquette plays Georgetown twice in January and won't play Villanova at all until February.
  • Spring semester starts on January 12, so the students will miss just one home game.  MU plays a road game on the the first Saturday of the semester, the day of Snowball, for at least the third consecutive year.
  • Senior Night is the day after Spring Break starts, thus forcing the students in the residence halls off of campus before the game starts.
  • There are five Saturday home games out of the nine, with four at 1pm and one at 1:30pm.  The two open Saturday nights, February 14th and 28th, go unused and as of right now, unoccupied on the Bradley Center schedule, although Marquette will play Creighton at noon on the 14th.  Deputy AD Mike Broeker reports that the 14th is already occupied with an unannounced event.
  • MU concludes the first half of the schedule with a three game homestand.  That gives the Golden Eagles five home games in the first nine, and only four in the back end of the schedule.

Did I miss anything?  Anything jump out at you?  Are you ready to turn the Allstate Arena gold on New Year's Eve?