clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

The Big East Digital Network Schedule For Marquette Soccer & Volleyball

LOTS of soccer, but very little volleyball.

Jeff Hanisch-USA TODAY Sports

The Big East's partnership with Fox Sports is paying of for those of us who are interested in more than just basketball.  Fox Sports Go will be providing live (and free) video streams for 85 men's soccer, women's soccer, and volleyball contests coming up this fall, including 19 games featuring YOUR Marquette Golden Eagles.

Let's get to the schedules for MU, along with a few interesting tidbits about what's going on.

Men's Soccer
Date Opponent Time (CT)
Sat., Sept. 26 at St. John's 6pm
Wed., Oct. 14 at Georgetown 2pm
Sat., Oct. 17 vs Creighton 7:05pm
Sat., Oct. 24 at Xavier 6pm
Wed., Oct. 28 vs Providence 7:05pm
Sat., Oct. 31 vs Butler 7:05pm
Thurs., Nov. 5 at DePaul 1pm

Seven of Marquette's nine conference games pop up on the schedule, which is pretty exciting.  The two that are missing from the slate are at Villanova on Saturday, October 3, and at home against Seton Hall on Saturday, October 10.  The good news is that the home game will likely be streamed by the good people running GoMarquette.com as they have in the past, and the Villanova game is already listed as being available via "Nova Nation All Access," although that might require dropping a few bucks to get the feed.

In addition to these regular season contests, Fox Sports Go will also pick up the broadcast for the Big East tournament quarterfinals and semifinals, all of which will be played at the higher seed's home field.  The championship game, which will also be a home game for the best remaining team, will be broadcast on Fox Sports 2, so you'll need a cable subscription to be able to watch it on Fox Sports Go.

Women's Soccer
Date Opponent Time (CT)
Sun., Sept. 27 vs Creighton 1pm
Thurs., Oct. 1 at Seton Hall 6pm
Sun., Oct. 4 at St. John's 12pm
Sun., Oct. 11 vs Providence 1pm
Sun. Oct. 18 at Georgetown 12pm
Thurs., Oct. 22 vs Villanova 7pm
Sun., Oct. 25 at Butler 12pm
Fri., Oct. 30 at DePaul 2pm

Eight of nine conference games!  SWEET!  The only one missing is a home date with Xavier on Thursday, October 8, and that should get picked up through GoMarquette.com for you out of towners that can't make it to the Valley.

Just like the men's side, Fox Sports Go will be streaming the first two rounds of the women's soccer Big East tournament.  The slight difference comes in the championship game, which, like the semifinals, will be played at Creighton's Morrison Stadium, but instead of FS2, the game will be on Fox Sports 1.

Volleyball
Date Opponent Time (CT)
Wed., Sept. 23 vs Xavier 7pm
Sun., Oct. 11 at Creighton 1pm
Fri., Oct. 6 vs Creighton 7pm
Sat., Oct. 21 at Xavier 6pm

Four of 18 conference matches.  This.... this is not great.  The good news is that the Al McGuire Center is rigged for video, so the other seven home games are likely going to get a stream on GoMarquette.com.  I'm not entirely sure why the volleyball schedule is so thin.  Every team in the Big East is hosting at least one match that's going to be streamed on FSGo, so it's very clearly not a function of the facilities not being rigged for video.  We may catch a break getting to see a road game with St. John's if they still have their odd deal with ESPN3, but the game there is scheduled for Taffner Fieldhouse and not Carnesecca Arena, so we'll have to see for certain there.

Creighton gets this tournament, too, as they'll host the volleyball semifinals and title game at D.J. Sokol Arena.  Fox Sports Go will carry the semifinals on November 27, but the decision on television for the final has yet to be made.

All told, only 10 conference games for both soccer leagues are missing out on the FSGo treatment, while there are only 15 of the 90 league volleyball clashes are ending up on the Big East Digital Network.  You can check out the full schedule of all of the fall BEDN broadcasts right here.