clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

The 2016-17 Marquette Golden Eagles Men’s Basketball Big East Schedule

Just filling in the blanks on the final eight games...

NCAA Basketball Tournament - Florida v Marquette Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images

After an apparent accidental leak and an intentional schedule tease, we now know the full Big East schedule for the 2016-17 season. Here’s the 18 game lineup for YOUR Marquette Golden Eagles, including start times and TV information:

Date Opponent Time (CT) TV
Wed., Dec. 28 vs Georgetown 7:30pm FS1
Sun., Jan. 1 at Seton Hall 3:30pm FS1
Sat., Jan. 7 at Villanova 6:30pm FS1
Wed., Jan. 11 vs Seton Hall 6pm FS1
Sat., Jan. 14 vs DePaul 1pm FS Wisconsin
Mon., Jan. 16 at Butler 11am FS1
Sat., Jan. 21 at Creighton 3:30pm FS1
Tue., Jan. 24 vs Villanova 7pm FS1
Sat., Jan. 28 vs Providence 1pm FS Wisconsin
Wed., Feb. 1 at St. John's 6pm FS2
Sat., Feb. 4 at DePaul 1pm FS1
Tue., Feb. 7 vs Butler 8pm CBS Sports Network
Sat., Feb. 11 at Georgetown 11am Fox
Sat., Feb. 18 vs Xavier 7pm CBS Sports Network
Tue., Feb. 21 vs St. John's 7pm FS1
Sat., Feb. 25 at Providence 3pm CBS Sports Network
Wed., Mar. 1 at Xavier 8pm FS1
Sat., Mar. 4 vs Creighton 1:30pm TBA

Only one FS2 appearance is scheduled for the Golden Eagles at this point and only two regional broadcast games, which means Marquette = ratings gold, but you already knew that.

The final game of the season is listed as TBA, because Fox Sports is exercising their right to decide the best possible matchups to put on Fox for the final day of the regular season.  The MU-CU game will be competing with Xavier/DePaul and Seton Hall/Butler for the eyes of the network, with one game going to Fox, one game going to FS2, and one game going to a regional Fox Sports broadcast.

It's kind of a bummer that National Marquette Day is sent over to CBS Sports Network, but such is life when your primary television partner spends a lot of Saturday nights broadcasting the undercard of UFC pay-per-views.

We also have the television lineup and game times for the non-conference portion of the schedule.  Every single non-conference game will be on a nationally broadcast station: two of the buy games on FS2, Fresno State and Vanderbilt appearing on CBS Sports Network, the 2K Classic turning up on ESPN2,  the trip to Georgia getting a spot on ESPNU, and everything else getting the mothership treatment on FS1.

You can check out the full Marquette schedule on GoMarquette.com and you can find the full composite Big East schedule on Big East.com.