clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

And Now, We Prepare For The 2020 Connecticut Sun Season

New, 2 comments

Natisha Hiedeman’s first full season in the WNBA isn’t even a full WNBA season smh

2019 WNBA Finals - Game Four
What’s in store for Natisha Hiedeman in Year 2 in the WNBA?
Photo by Ned Dishman/NBAE via Getty Images

HEY.

Didja hear and/or see that the WNBA is starting their season TOMORROW? It’s true! There’s a tripleheader of nationally televised games coming your way from the coronavirus pandemic bubble at IMG Academy in Florida (or Wubble for short), but we here at Anonymous Eagle aren’t actually concerned with those games. We’re interested in the Sunday nationally televised tripleheader, specifically the first game.

Why?

Well, because Marquette’s very own Natisha Hiedeman is back with the Connecticut Sun in 2020! Hiedeman was drafted by Minnesota last year, but was traded on draft day to Connecticut. She would eventually be cut by the Sun during training camp, and after a brief stint with Atlanta, Hiedeman made her way back to Mohegan Sun for the remainder of the 2019 season. That included seven appearances in the playoffs as the Sun advanced all the way to a fifth and decisive game in the WNBA Finals before bowing out to Washington.

Last year, Hiedeman appeared in 20 regular season games for the Sun, and this year, the WNBA will be playing a 22 game regular season in the Wubble. With head coach Curt Miller dealing with six returning players and six newcomers on the roster, I feel it’s safe to say that Hiedeman will end up playing a valuable role for him. She averaged just over 10 minutes a game in 2019 and shot 46% from long range. She was a part time role player at best as a rookie, but that’s what you expect from rookies that have to fight their way back into the league. Hiedeman posted per-36 minutes numbers of 12.8 points, 5.3 rebounds, and 6.7 assists, so it should be interesting to see what she can accomplish in her second season.

10 of Connecticut’s 22 games are set for a national television broadcast. The Sun’s own press release on the schedule outright says that there will be forthcoming information about local television broadcasts, so I’m not 100% clear if you’ll be able to catch the other 12 on League Pass. For now, though, here’s what you need to know for your calendar on how to catch a glimpse of Hiedeman and the Sun coming to you live from Bradenton.

2020 Connecticut Sun Regular Season Schedule

Date Opponent Time (CT) Television
Date Opponent Time (CT) Television
Sunday, July 26 Minnesota Lynx 11:00 AM ESPN
Tuesday, July 28 Washington Mystics 6:00 PM NBA TV
Thursday, July 30 Los Angeles Sparks 9:00 PM ESPN
Saturday, August 1 Minnesota Lynx 3:00 PM NBA TV
Tuesday, August 4 Seattle Storm 8:00 PM ESPN2
Thursday, August 6 Dallas Wings 7:00 PM NBA TV
Saturday, August 8 Chicago Sky 4:00 PM
Monday, August 10 Atlanta Dream 5:00 PM
Wednesday, August 12 Dallas Wings 6:00 PM CBS Sports Network
Friday, August 14 Chicago Sky 6:00 PM @WNBA on Twitter
Sunday, August 16 Seattle Storm 5:00 PM ABC
Tuesday, August 18 Indiana Fever 6:00 PM CBS Sports Network
Thursday, August 20 Las Vegas Aces 9:00 PM CBS Sports Network
Saturday, August 22 New York Liberty 6:00 PM CBS Sports Network
Wednesday, August 26 Phoenix Mercury 9:00 PM CBS Sports Network
Friday, August 28 Los Angeles Sparks 7:00 PM CBS Sports Network
Sunday, August 30 Washington Mystics 3:00 PM @WNBA on Twitter
Tuesday, September 1 New York Liberty 6:00 PM CBS Sports Network
Thursday, September 3 Las Vegas Aces 7:00 PM @WNBA on Twitter
Saturday, September 5 Indiana Fever 3:00 PM
Monday, September 7 Phoenix Mercury TBD
Wednesday, September 9 Phoenix Mercury 6:00 PM
Friday, September 11 Atlanta Dream 6:00 PM